GLAMFA ARTIST- Elizabeth Johnson

get-attachment-1.aspxget-attachment-2.aspxHey all! I went to the gallery again today and I have to say I thought I was going to get tired of visiting the gallery but it has continued to be interesting. I realize the more I look at different pieces of how diverse people are and how one person can have a completely different interpretation of what they are looking at. I had no idea I would have so much to look at it because usually with big crowds of people it is hard to get around but I noticed less backpacks on people today and I appreciated that. The art that spoke to me was Nikki and Duality of Man who was done by Elizabeth Johnson. My interpretation of these paintings is that you should be who you want to be. I thought it was interesting that in the picture on the left, Nikki, she is looking away as if she is ashamed or hiding herself. I think Elizabeth is trying to tell people not to look away or be ashamed but to be yourself. The transformation in the second picture is completely different because it shows her being proud of herself and she looks happy. She almost looks stuck up which I think Elizabeth is trying to tell viewers this is how you should be. You should be proud of yourself and not be ashamed of who you are and who you really want to be. I think that this artist is an amazing person because she accepts everyone and wants others to be accepting and show them that everyone is entitled to be their own person. These women aren’t afraid to show the world who they are and that is what is most interesting to me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

